icc cricket world cup

The 12th edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup is just around the corner. Sports fanatics are eagerly waiting to witness 10 cricketing giants locking their horns against each other. Players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Chris Gayle among others have time and again proven that gentleman’s game is no more gentle. The World Cup is returning home after 2 decades as England was the first nation to host it in the year 1975.

The top 8 teams according to ICC One Day International rankings as of 30 September 2017 earned automatic qualification. The remaining two spots being decided by the 2018 Cricket World Cup Qualifier. Ireland and Afghanistan have been promoted to full members of the ICC, becoming the newest Test cricketing nations. As far as the current results are concerned, Afghanistan won the qualifying tournament in the final. Both teams qualified for the World Cup. For the first time since 1983, Zimbabwe couldn’t reach the final. Same goes for Ireland, since 2007.

cricket world cup 2019

Talking about the venues:
the cricketers will hit the ground for the first match at The Oval while the final match will be played at Lord’s which is considered as the Mecca of cricket. It is the fifth time that the Cricket World Cup will be held in England and Wales, following 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999 World Cups.

It is in knowledge, that a similar format as that of 1992 Cricket World Cup will be used in 2019 Cricket World Cup which means that the group stage format is a round-robin, where all ten teams play each other once, in a single group. This means a total of 45 matches will be played, with each team playing a total of nine matches. The top four teams from the group will progress to the knockout stage.

As the days are going by, the excitement level among the cricket lovers is simply uncontrollable. Catch all the action with the top influencers at www.worldcupdreamteam.com

cricket world cup 2018

Leave a Reply